Apple Music versus Continuous Delivery

Last week my phone received iOS update 8.4.1,  Being into Software Release Management, naturally I read the release note.

On a slight tangent, I’m ashamed to say that when it comes to my phone, I don’t practice Continuous Deployment of app updates – even though I know it’s been possible since iOS 7. Instead, I like to also read those release notes before deploying (it’s not that bad – I don’t raise a Change Request or run a CAB!)

Anyway, the release note explained that the reason for an update was an update to Apple Music (a new music streaming software aimed to challenge Spotify.  At this point my Release Management instincts were offended:

I have to update my whole Operating System in order to update just one application?

And one application I don’t actually use.  (NB I actually don’t use it because I’m tied to Spotify through my phone contact, not because I’ve yet tried and/or rejected Apple Music.)  Even worse, this upgrade caused me downtime on my phone.

So I wonder:

How long Apple will continue to release a monolithic Operating System and Music Application build package?

Or interestingly do they have other reasons for doing this?  (I notice they did bundle security updates.)

Spotify have a standalone application (thanks to the App Store capable of Continuous Deployment of updates – for those so inclined) and they release very regular updates.  I can’t see people being happy with taking iOS Operating System updates as frequently (unless they can start happening without an outage).

In my opinion, whilst this situation continues Spotify have to posses a commercial advantage. Especially with all the great things we see and read about their agile culture.

2 thoughts on “Apple Music versus Continuous Delivery

  1. I think it may be relevant that Apple are the only Nasdaq100 company that operate a monolithic organisational structure. They don’t have lines of business, no departments have P&L responsibility. Following Conway’s Law Apple would design monolithic software because their organisation structure is monolithic. We’re protected by the modular design of Unix when it comes to OSX updates but even there they tend to bundle releases of disparate applications (I seem to get lots of RAW file handling and security update packs).

Leave a Reply

