Running the DevOps Platform on Google Compute Engine

Sometimes knowing something is possible just isn’t good enough.  So here is how I spun up the DevOps Platform on Google Compute Engine (GCE).

1. I needed a Google Compute Engine account.

2. I enabled the Google Compute APIs for my GCE account

3. I installed the Google Cloud commandline API

4. I opened the Google Cloud SDK Shell link that had appeared in my Windows Start menu and ran:

C:\> gcloud auth login

This popped open a Chrome window and asked me to authenticate against my GCE account.

5. (Having previously installed Docker Toolbox, see here) I opened Git Bash (as an Administrator) and ran this command:

$ docker-machine create --driver google \
                 --google-project <a project in my GCE account> \
                 --google-machine-type n1-standard-2 \
                 markosadop01

You will notice that this is fairly standard.  I picked an n1-standard-2 machine type which is roughly equivalent to what we use for AWS.

6. I waited while a machine was created in Google containing Docker

7. I cloned the ADOP Docker Compose repository from GitHub:

$ git clone https://github.com/Accenture/adop-docker-compose
$ cd adop-docker-compose

8. I ran the normal startup.sh command as follows:

$ git clone https://github.com/Accenture/adop-docker-compose
$ ./startup.sh -m markosadop01 -c NA

And hey presto:

...
SUCCESS, your new ADOP instance is ready!
Run these commands in your shell:
eval "$(docker-machine env $MACHINE_NAME)"
source env.config.sh
Navigate to http://104.197.235.64 in your browser to use your new DevOps Platform!

And just to prove it:

$ whois 104.197.235.64 | grep Org
Registrant Organization: Google Inc.
Admin Organization: Google Inc.
Tech Organization: Google Inc.

9. I had to go to Networks > Firewall rules and added a rule to allow HTTP to my server.

10. I viewed my new ADOP on Google instance in (of course…) Chrome!

Lovely stuff!

One thought on “Running the DevOps Platform on Google Compute Engine

  1. Pingback: Running the DevOps Platform on Microsoft Azure | Markos Rendell

Leave a Reply

