Running the DevOps Platform on Microsoft Azure

As per my last post about GCE sometimes knowing something is possible just isn’t good enough.  So here is how I spun up the DevOps Platform on the Microsoft Azure cloud.  Warning thanks to Docker Machine, this post is very similar to this earlier one.

1. I needed an Azure account.

2. I logged into my Azure account and didn’t click “view the new Portal”.

3. On the left hand menu, I scrolled down to the bottom (it didn’t look immediately to me like it will scroll so hover) and clicked settings.  Here I was able to see my subscription ID and copy it.

4. (Having previously installed Docker Toolbox, see here) I opened Git Bash (as an Administrator) and ran this command:

$ docker-machine create --driver azure --azure-size Standard_A3 --azure-subscription-id <the ID I just copied> markos01

I was prompted to open a url in my brower, enter a confirmation code, and then login with my Azure credentials.  Credit to Microsoft, this was easier than GCE for which I needed to install the gcloud commandline utility!

You will notice that this is fairly standard.  I picked an Standard_A3 machine type which is roughly equivalent to what we use for AWS and GCP.

5. I waited while a machine was created in Azure containing Docker

6. I cloned the ADOP Docker Compose repository from GitHub:

$ git clone https://github.com/Accenture/adop-docker-compose
$ cd adop-docker-compose

7. I ran the normal startup.sh command as follows:

$ ./startup.sh -m markos01 -c NA

And entered a user name (thanks to this recent enhancement), hey presto

...
SUCCESS, your new ADOP instance is ready!
Run these commands in your shell:
eval \"$(docker-machine env $MACHINE_NAME)\"
source env.config.sh
Navigate to http://52.160.97.159 in your browser to use your new DevOps Platform!

And just to prove it:

$ whois 52.160.97.159 | grep Org
Organization: Microsoft Corporation (MSFT)
OrgName: Microsoft Corporation
OrgId: MSFT

8. I had to go to All resources > markos01-firewall > Inbound security rules and added a rule to allow HTTP to my server on port 80.

9. I viewed my new ADOP on Azure hosted instance in (of course…) Chrome! 😉

More lovely stuff!

 

Leave a Reply

